New Challenges…..

I have hit a new goal in my training. On Saturday I ran 10 miles. That’s right I said 10 miles. I could have never imagined that I could run ten miles. Now let’s be clear I am not going to win an Olympic medal at the speed I am running but at least I am hitting all of the goals that I set for myself. I am so proud that I am able to keep up with the training as much as possible and I am still focused.

The run on Sat was the most difficult that I have ever had. My body felt pretty good but I hit a real mental block around mile six. I ran the first 5.5 mile with the two other women in my club but after that I was on my own. And that is when the real determination had to kick in. In life when you see other people hit their goals you often find yourself wondering if you can stop at that point as well. But I am here to share with you that the answer is no. Every goal must be personal and right for you. So I set off to finish my last 4 miles all by myself.

It was extremely hard to dig deep and keep pushing but I just kept putting one foot in front of the other until I hit the finish line. I also had to take a few walk breaks in between but I never gave up. No matter how hard or unattainable your goals just remember I am out there not only running for me but for all those who dare to keep going and reach a stretch goal!

Yvette

Explore posts in the same categories: African American runners, Endurance, Marathon, Running, Training

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a comment